Tourist Schengen Visa

What is Schengen?

Schengen is a European zone consisting of 26 countries, which have abolished internal borders. Instead, these countries altogether have focused on the strengthening of external borders. The citizens of Schengen Zone are permitted to move from one country to the other, within this territory, as if the whole region was a single country.

The Schengen Area covers the majority of Europe, and includes some of the most powerful and oldest countries of the old continent. Most of the countries are part of the EU block as well. On the other hand, there are other countries as Switzerland and Lichtenstein which are not in the EU, but which still enjoy free movement within this territory, as they are part of the Schengen Zone.


Today, it is home to around 400 million people, who make 1.2 billion journeys per year within the Schengen territory.

The name “Schengen” comes from the small winemaking town and commune of Schengen in far south-eastern Luxembourg, where France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands signed the Schengen Agreement.

Schengen Visa

The Schengen visa allows you to cross the borders between Austria, Germany, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxemburg, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and The Netherlands in one trip on the strength of one visa rather than having to apply for and obtain visas for all of those countries. It can open up much broader travel horizons for you and give you the chance to enjoy all of the delights that Europe has to offer, but only if you know how to apply for a Schengen visa and Schengen insurance first!

A Tourist Schengen Visa allows third-country nationals enter into the Schengen Area for a maximum of 90 days within a 6-month period, under the purpose of traveling or visiting Europe for pleasure.

Schengen Area Countries

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Czech Republic
  4. Denmark
  5. Estonia
  6. Finland
  7. France
  8. Germany
  9. Greece
  10. Hungary
  11. Iceland
  12. Italy
  13. Latvia
  14. Liechtenstein
  15. Lithuania
  16. Luxembourg
  17. Malta
  18. Netherlands
  19. Norway
  20. Poland
  21. Portugal
  22. Slovakia
  23. Slovenia
  24. Spain
  25. Sweden
  26. Switzerland


  • You will need to have a specific destination in mind because it is that country that will grant you a Schengen visa. If you are travelling around Europe, you would then have to identify the country you will first arrive in.
  • You will need a valid passport with at least six months remaining on it as well as two passport photos for your Schengen visa application.
  • You must fill out a Schengen visa application form.
  • You must have travel insurance to cover your trip
  • Some countries will also ask you to provide proof of sufficient funds for your trip. You may have to prove that you have enough money to be able to get home when your trip is over and provide everything you need in the meantime.
  • Evidence of employment status.

How long does it take to receive the visa?

It is advisable to apply for a Schengen Tourist Visa at least 2 weeks prior to the planned trip. The Embassy Consulate will then reply within 10 working days as common (or less as usually occurs), the time taken to proceed all the documentation and the travellers request.

How long is the visa valid for?

Tourist visa is commonly valid for stays no more than 90 days. Visit our Office today to meet our counsellors or you can fill our free assessment form and get call-back from our experts.