Skilled Nomination Visa – 190

Skilled Nomination Visa – 190

Skilled Nomination Visa (subclass 190) is a type of Visa in which the applicant is required to secure at least 65 points in order to qualify in the point assessment test. The applicant is required to obtain nomination from the participating state or territory. In the assessment the applicant is required to be under the age of 50 years and should be able to demonstrate their qualification of an occupation on the Consolidated Skilled Occupation List (CSOL).

Skilled Nomination Visa

The Skilled Nomination Visa (subclass 190) is considered to be a permanent visa for the individuals who possess the qualifications as required in the Australian Economy but are not able to meet the passing marks required to attain the Skilled Nomination Visa. This category is also open for the applicants who are able to meet the passing marks but wish to access priority processing which is applied once state/territory sponsorship is offered by a participating state/territory government agency.

Skilled Nominated Visa (subclass 190) Basic requirements

In order to apply for a visa in the General Skilled Migration Program all the applicants must meet the basic requirements of The Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP).

To qualify for a Skilled visa, applicants or their partner must be able to fulfil the basic visa requirements related to age, English language proficiency, occupation, skills, qualification, character and lastly health.

In addition to the above, applicants are also required to pass a point assessment test. Points can be claimed in areas related to age, English language ability, specific work experience, spouse skills and other bonus categories.

Currently, the passing mark for the point assessment test is 65 points.

To be nominated by a State or Territory government, applicants must meet specific criteria, as set by a particular State or Territory. These may include:

  • The applicants must have an occupation on the skills shortage list in that State or Territory; or
  • The applicants should be able to demonstrate specialized skills in a particular region of that State or Territory.

Visa (subclass 190) Entitlements

Successful applicants or holders of the Australian Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189) qualify to become permanent residents of Australia. Australian permanent residents are entitled to live, work and study in Australia on permanent basis. Additional benefits of Australian permanent residence include access to government-subsidised healthcare (Medicare), certain social security benefits and the ability to apply for Australian citizenship.

Features of this Program:

  • The applicant has to be sponsored by State /Territory Government.
  • Under the Australian Skilled Immigration Program, permanent residents have complete access to health care benefits and certain social security payments.
  • Permanent residents under this category can apply for citizenship of Australia after living in Australia for 4 years.
  • Once landed in Australia, the applicant can sponsor their family for permanent residency in Australia.
  • Dependents can accompany the applicant, provided they comply with the Australian Migration Law.
  • Applicant can score 5 points if nominated by an Australian State/Territory Govt.